By  Dona Bertarelli

My ‘Everest’ was the extraordinary journey which is the Jules Verne Trophy.

For three years, I prepared myself for this. I lived the adventure, a day at a time, fully, intensely, full of excitement, looking wide-eyed at the world, at myself, at those I love, among whom Yann, who opened up the doors to offshore sailing to me. My greatest joy was being able to share this adventure with the school children who were following us as part of our Spindrift for Schools programme. Throughout the 47 days onboard Spindrift 2, I wrote a series of articles titled ‘Out of the Classroom’ inspired by our encounters with marine life, the weather we experienced and the incredible places we passed as we sailed around the world. We didn’t beat the record, but what better present than to have been able to share what we learned from sailing around the world, and share a modern-day experience of Phileas Fogg’s adventures.

Spindrift 2 set off on January 16th, 2019, on another attempt to win the Jules Verne Trophy. And it is with a touch of nostalgia that I would like to share my articles again, to give you a glimpse of this wonderful adventure.


FERNANDO DE NORONHA ISLAND

While sailing near the Brazilian coast, on our 6th day at sea during the Jules Verne Trophy record attempt in 2015, I remember crewmates spotting a lighthouse in the distance, alone in the middle of nowhere. Its lights instantly reminded us of civilization. The lighthouse was on one of the rocks of the Saint Peter and Saint Paul Archipelago, some 1,000 km from the Brazilian coast and 630 km from the island of Fernando de Noronha, the nearest island.

This archipelago was discovered in 1511 by six Portuguese caravels when a caravel was shipwrecked on one of the rocks. It’s an area that sees severe thunderstorms, and it wasn’t until 1930 that the first lighthouse was built. Replaced in 1995, the lighthouse ended perilous navigation in the area.

Whilst this first sign of civilization was unhospitable, the second, the island of Fernando de Noronha, was spectacularly beautiful. Discovered in 1503, it’s now a UNESCO World Heritage Site meaning its flora and fauna are protected. The island has an airport, a hospital and a nursery school, with 3,000 people living there year-round.

Both Saint Peter and Saint Paul Archipelago and Fernando de Noronha island attract many scientists, including Charles Darwin, who visited them in 1832 during his voyage around the world.

Par  Dona Bertarelli

Mon « Everest » a été cette aventure extraordinaire qu’est le Trophée Jules Verne.

Je me suis préparée pendant trois ans et je l’ai ensuite vécue, un jour après l’autre, pleinement, fortement, passionnément, les yeux grands ouverts sur le monde, sur moi et ceux que j’aime, dont Yann qui m’a ouvert les portes du grand large. Mon plus grand bonheur a été de partager mon aventure avec les écoliers qui nous suivaient dans le cadre de notre programme « Spindrift for Schools ». Tout au long de ces 47 jours passés à bord de Spindrift 2, j’ai écrit une série d’articles intitulés « Out of the Classroom », inspirés de mes observations, notamment mes rencontres avec la faune marine, les phénomènes climatiques et les lieux incroyables que nous avons pu apercevoir lors de ce tour du monde. Nous n’avons pas battu le record, mais quel plus beau cadeau que de partager les enseignements d’un tour du monde à la voile et de faire vivre au travers de mes récits l’aventure de Phileas Fogg, une aventure des temps moderne.

Spindrift 2 a levé l’ancre le 16 janvier 2019 pour tenter une nouvelle fois de remporter le Trophée Jules Verne. C’est avec une pointe de nostalgie que je partage à nouveau mes articles, pour vous donner un aperçu de cette merveilleuse aventure.


L’ÎLE DE FERNANDO DE NORONHA

Jeudi soir vers 23h (TU), en approche de l’équateur, les quarts sur le pont, François, Antoine, Loïck et Thomas, aperçoivent un phare au loin, imposant, seul au milieu de nulle part, il nous rappelle à la civilisation. C’est celui des rochers de Saint Pierre et Saint Paul constitués d’une douzaine de petites îles et de rochers à quelques 1000 km de la côte brésilienne et de 630 km de l’île Fernando de Noronha, la terre la plus proche.

Les rochers furent découverts en 1511 par 6 caravelles portugaises suite au naufrage de l’une d’elles. C’est une zone soumise à de sévères orages et ce n’est qu’en 1930 qu’un premier phare est construit, remplacé en 1995 par l’actuel, arrêtant ainsi une navigation périlleuse dans cette zone.

Ces deux archipels attirent de nombreux scientifiques, dont le célèbre Charles Darwin qui les visita en 1832 lors de son tour du monde.

Si les vents nous restent favorable, notre route passera peut-être non loin d’un autre archipel, plus au sud, celui de Trinidad et Martin Vàz. Ces deux îles sont d’origine volcanique, montagneuses, elles culminent à 620m de haut.

Qui sait, en passant de jour, on arrivera peut-être à les apercevoir ?